O-No It’s The O-Port!

Posted on September 17, 2010

2


I awoke one morning to a package on my doorstep.  There were no flames, odors of dog do-do or anything that remotely appeared to be anthrax.  (Although I’d love to meet Scott Ian someday)  I open it up and see the O-Port…next question “What is an O-Port?”

Well according to Dare Music Group who make the product that is distributed through D’addario/Planet Waves:

“The O-Port is a truly brilliant product of acoustical engineering, the O-Port gives any guitar more clarity, richer sound and brighter notes. It is a unique product of soundwave science that does more than just suppress feedback; with the O-Port, your acoustic guitar will have more clarity, better projection and a sound so enhanced that you will never want to take it out again.”

Yeah…I bet!  This thing looks like it belongs in the plumbing aisle at my local hardware store.  Well, later I talk my cold, cynical self into giving it a go.

My test guitar is a Walden D710CE acoustic with strings waaay past their prime.  I figure, “Hey I’m not going to go easy on this thing!”  I recorded 2 samples. The first clip is without the O-Port and the second is with.  The mic is a Shure SM58 into a small mixer straight into my sound card and captured by Reaper.  So there are no tricks here, just a raw recording.  I posted some photos to show you the guitar, the O-Port and how inconspicuous it is once installed.

Listen In MP3 Format

Oport OFF     Oport ON

With something as subjective as tone, I’m not going to dwell on my thoughts too much other than, wow the O-Port nearly doubled the volume of my acoustic!  Harmonics sounded warmer and it gave my guitar sustain I didn’t know it had.

The Bottom Line

The O-Port is well worth the gamble.  It will run you about $30.  You will need to loosen your strings to fit the device in your soundhole.  You may want to consider installing it when you change your strings next.  It’s not the easiest thing in the world to install, but you’ll get the hang of it.  I did not get to test this product out live to see if it reduces feedback, however all the other claims this product makes were true, so I can only assume they are not pulling your leg.  My favorite part of this product: it can be installed and uninstalled without making any marks on my instrument.  You’ve got nothing to lose.

For more information: http://www.dmg-austin.com

Currently Listening To:  Bela Fleck and the Flecktones “Flight of the Cosmic Hippo”

Posted in: Uncategorized