Party On Aurora – Aurora Strings Review

Posted on October 16, 2010

0


Aurora strings is known for their line of brightly colored strings.  This is no gimmick folks, these strings are the real deal!  I contacted the company mentioning I was interested in reviewing a set of their bass strings for my blog.  When they asked what color I wanted, I immediately turned into a 5 year old.  I couldn’t decide.  Green…No, Blue…No, Gold…No, Orange…No, well you get the idea.  Since it’s time for the MLB playoffs I went with Philadelphia Phillies’ team color red.  By the way, if you’re still undecided they make a multi-colored set as well.  An easy choice for the schizophrenic inside us all.

Web: http://stringsbyaurora.com/
Average Street Prices:
Acoustic $14.55
Electric $13.95
4-string Bass: $34.95
5-string Bass: $42.95
6-string Bass: $51.95

What Instruments Do They Make Strings For?

Electric, Acoustic, 7-string, 12-string and Classical Guitar, 4, 5 and 6 string Bass, and the Ukulele.

Don’t Like Their Set Gauges?

No problem.  Aurora allows to you buy their strings individually building your own custom set.

What Are The Strings Made Out Of?

Well the website isn’t looking to give away too many secrets.  The bass strings I reviewed are nickel wound.

Bob Dylan walked in and asked, “How does is feeeeeeel?”

The Auroras feel great.  My preconception was there was going to be some sort of coated feeling, but there is none. 
They remind me of most other nickel wound strings on the market.

How Do They Sound?

Initial thoughts: Very warm and not overly bright.

Where Can I Buy Them?

I haven’t seen them in stores or carried by any major online retailer.  Currently it looks like the only way to buy is directly through the Aurora site.

Overall Experience.

My overall experience is good.  I put these strings on my Schecter Stargazer.  There was plenty of extra slack even with the Schecter’s string-thru body design.  The tension is just as it should be, not floppy, but not too stiff.  The tuneablility is great.  I only have a few hours logged on them, so who knows how long they will last, but they still feel as fresh as they were when I put them on.

It’s a tough job, but someone’s gotta do it.  Here’s a shot of the Auroras on my Schecter as I tested ’em through my Hartke LH-500 and HX115 cab.

Currently Listening To: Alter Bridge  “AB III”

Posted in: Uncategorized