Gramma by Auralex Product Review

Posted on February 20, 2011

1


This week I checked out the Gramma by Auralex Acoustics. The USA-made product allows you to hear the true tone of your amp by canceling out the connection between your amp and the floor.

What is the Gramma?
Gramma stands for: Gig & Recording Amp & Monitor Modulation Attenuator.  (I see why they went with Gramma!) In a nutshell it is an acoustically treated platform to set your guitar, bass or keyboard amp as well as well as your stage or playback monitors.

Dimensions:
Length 23″
Width 15″
Height 2.75″
Product Weight: < 2 lbs.
Handles: 300 lbs.

Why Would I Want It:
-No more tone suck from hollow stages
-Hear a consistent tone and volume from your amp
-Great for recording related isolation
-Cuts back on room/stage noise

What it fits:
Most 1×12 Guitar Combos
Most Single Speaker Bass Combos
Most 1×12 Stage Monitors

Need More Space?
The Great Gramma is perfect for your 2×12, 4×12 and 8×10 speakers cabinets.

How Is It?
Well it does what is says it does.  I spent an afternoon playing a Les Paul into a Fender guitar combo taking the amp on and off the Gramma.  When the Gramma was on I noticed my highs were crisper and my lows were more focused and less boomy.  I tried the same thing with a P-bass into my Ampeg BA112 bass combo.  With the amp on the Gramma, clearer high end, tighter lows and I wasn’t rattling my coffee mug of the end table.  There is also a handy handle on the underside of the Gramma for easy carrying.

Web: http://www.auralex.com/sound_isolation_gramma/sound_isolation_gramma.asp
Street Price: Gramma $50, Great Gramma $80, Gig Bag $25.

Posted in: Gear Reviews